Hello lovelies.

Today’s post is brought to you by the lovely people over at The Broke and The Bookish. If you want to participate in this weekly meme head on over to their site and check out next weeks prompt and share the bookish love. Here we go!

If you saw my last post, this  first one should come as no surprise. (Note: I didn’t include any books that were rereads for me, because things like Harry Potter and Alice’s adventures in Wonderland are universally awesome.)

160968241. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Full of action, romance, fae, snarky characters, violence, and awesome, ACOTAR stole my heart. At it’s most basic, this is a re-imaging of Beauty and the Beast, along with several other fairy tales, twisted into something darker, more adult than the Disney version, and inhabited by a collection of morally questionable, violent, and down right awesome faeries. If you’d like a more in depth assessment of how hard it hit me in the feels check out my review here.

77413252. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Leviathan

A contemporary romance about two quirky teenagers who come together because of a red notebook and a mission during the Christmas holidays in New York City. Frought with bookstores, dictionary references, and ridiculousness, this a lovely get away from the darker fiction I tend to gravitate towards and really made me want to try out more contemporary romance.

186677793. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Love stories, movie magic, lost relatives and green couches, Everything Leads To You is another contemporary romance that I wasn’t expecting much from that blew me away. Absolutely gorgeous and heartfelt, it brought me to tears of happiness. Read my thoughts and rambles on the novel. 

171854964. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Talk about a heavy hitter. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly begins as a young girl is arrested with a bloodied man at her feet, and the remnants of her commune burning behind her. Arrested, and dropped in juvenile detention facility, this is the story of a young girls love, loss, and life in a religious cult which cost her everything, including her hands. This book slayed me.

158190285. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

Legends, magic, and historical, this glorious novel is better the less you know but let me tell you it’s simply amazing. Great for fans of myths, urban fantasy, historical fiction, romance, and action and multiple POV’s.

195478566. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

This book is hilarious. It’s a miracle my pants stayed dry. Simon is that kid in the closet who is full of sass and dry social commentary and in love with someone who he only knows through an online chat room. But everything in his life changes when a classmate discovers his secret and threatens to tell everyone the truth. I recommend this to anyone who needs a contemporary comedy with lots of HP references and some high school romantic drama. But mostly this is too funny to pass up. I promise. I reviewed it here.  

234371567. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Set in a Russia-esque fantasy world, Six of Crows follows a gang of misfit thieves as they take on the greatest heist of all time, which turns out to be a hell of a lot more complicated than they could ever imagine. This high fantasy has a ton of memorable characters, moments, quotes, and a rocking sense of action and high stakes drama. Highly recommend.

135387088. The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente

The sequel to The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, this novel picks up a year or so later, and leads us into the underground reaches of Fairyland where shadows rule and her own shadow is wreaking havoc. Full of witty word play, off the wall characters, and mind boggling fantasy, this is the series for people who love old fashioned fairy tales, big words, and new perspectives on old ideas. I love these books.

193510439. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

This is a graphic novel about a shape shifting side kick and an evil genius/super villain who take on the world and also the kingdom, and it’s hero. Witty, epic, and fantastic, I wasn’t in love when I began, but this grew on me and it’s now an absolute favorite.

2373462810. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

The companion novel to Rowell’s other novel Fangirl, this is the story of a wizard prodigy, his vampire roommate, and their crazy school antics at magic school. Harry Potter reimagined, and then turned on it’s head, and then made in to the hottest/cutest love story between two dude that I’ve ever personally read. This is essentially a mind blowing fan fiction fantasy written by the author of the original concept which was, itself, a parody of Harry Potter, but somehow became it’s own beautiful story. I can’t tell you how much I love this book, but I did try in a previous review so you can find that here. 

So there’s my list. I hope you liked it. Let me know in the comments below if you 5 starred any of these books and if you’ve got any amazing reads to recommend. Til next time…

Best wishes,

Ellie.

