This movie exceeded all my expectations. Having seen countless versions of Pride and Prejudice I didn’t expect to see a great deal of variation in the story line. I’m also not a huge fan of zombies so I didn’t think that addition would proof interesting enough to warrant the price of a movie ticket. At best I figured it would be so bad it would wind up be entertaining.

How wrong I was.

p+p+z zomb
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is by far, hands down, without a doubt my favorite adaptation of the story to date. I loved this film so much, I immediately wanted to buy another ticket and watch it again. It’s also earned a spot on my list of films to purchase and love for all of eternity.

I will say that if you haven’t at least read Pride and Prejudice, which you should (stop reading this and go do that now), then it’s necessary to see one of the tv or film adaptations of the novel. This is definitely a film for Austen fans and I think that many of the more humorous additions would be lost on someone not familiar with the story and the characters.
Speaking of the characters, oh my goodness. Lizzie Bennet is a freaking badass. In fact, all the Bennet sisters are badasses. The trailer hardly does justice to how amazing and intense these women are.

giphy
Of course, we can’t talk about Pride and Prejudice without mentioning Darcy. Oh Darcy. I’ve never been much of a fan of his character until the Keira Knightley adaptation which seems to be a bit of a sore spot for some fans, however Sam Riley is amazing in this zombified version of the story. He is strong, and forceful, and most importantly, he wears leather. I repeat ladies, Mr Darcy wears leather.

darcy keira

pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies-mr-darcy

 

I for one have never considered Pride and Prejudice to be romantic at all, and would never think to list Lizzie Bennet and Mr Darcy on any OTP list ever. But some people do and that’s fine. To each their own. The wonderful thing about Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is that it adds the sexual tension, and modern sense of being a strong female to what could arguably be considered a vastly overdone story. While the book and characters might be an accurate representation to how things were done at that time, as someone living in the 21st century it’s  obnoxious to consider marriage and connections to be so important. It’s also a bit boring considering that there’s really no pay off in the romantic department. It’s supposed to be a love story for christ sake. Call me a base bitch but I’d really love to see a version of Pride and Prejudice where it’s believable that Lizzie and Darcy are actually going to have a romantic, passionate marriage. And baby, the zombies delivered. (Never thought I’d say that.)

Pride-Prejudice-Zombies-feature
As a side note, Matt Smith as Mr. Collins is hands down the single best version of Collins in any film or tv adaptation to date. He is hilarious and awkward and almost adorably naive. Never before or again will Mr. Collins steal the scene from everyone else in the room. Unfortunately I couldn’t find an glorious gifs of this so instead I leave you with this behind the scenes pic.

8545be5d357ccb94b2906ad47d2ec7b8

 

Also, Wickham is so obviously a slimy bastard and I loved it. I always hate when he’s almost attractive. Nobody can be fooled by that face. Yeesh.

wickham wickham2

 

 

 

 
The one thing that I have to admit that I wasn’t a fan of was Lady Catherine. While I love Lena Hadley, I was not a fan of her in this version. I much preferred Judy Dench.

Lena Headey in Screen Gems' PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.
Unfortunately I can’t find enough Gifs to give you a rundown of every marvelous scene in the whole movie, but I cannot recommend it enough. Do yourself a favor and watch this amazing adaptation.
Best wishes,
Ellie ❤

