As always, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by Broke and Bookish. If you’d like a sneak peak at upcoming topics or more bookish information head over to their site.

Due to malicious internet stealing gnomes, I wasn’t able to post this on Tuesday, for which I beg your pardon.

Today is a freebie day, so I’ll be giving you my Top Ten OTPs. For those uninitiated fangirls, OTP stands for One True Pairing, and can be used to refer to your favorite couples or relationships in a book, TV series, movie, game, or really anything that involves relationships. As a side note, OTPs do not have to match canon, meaning that you can ship Voldemort and McGonagall and no one can tell you otherwise. They might give you some weird looks, but you’re free to ship whomever you choose and quite often this involves being in favor of the guy who didn’t get the girl in love triangles. Definitions and restrictions aside, here are my bookish Top Ten OTPs.
PSA on SPOILERS: I’ve tried not to included too many spoilers, but it’s kind of inevitable when discussing relationships in books, especially the ones that don’t follow canon. So, if you see a book title and you haven’t read it think twice about reading my reasons. That is all.

A Darker Shade final for Irene

Kell and Delilah Bard – A Darker Shade Of Magic by V. E. Schwab
Technically this is almost not a thing, but I want it so badly and the sequel is coming out in like two weeks and oh my god, I need this to be an honest to god intimate thing. Kell and Lila are amazing on their own but I am rooting for them to officially become a couple. Unlike a lot of other relationships in novels, these two have their own talents and are totally badass and can take care of themselves without relying on another person. But they do rely on each other and they become this sort of unstoppable force of magically awesome and I love them. I’m fangirling a bit right now. #sorrynotsorry

23734628

Simon Snow and Baz -Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
That scene in the woods, am I right? There were a lot of reasons why I picked this novel up, but the main one was because I’d heard that it would follow the gay romance originally outlined in Rowell’s novel Fangirl. I wasn’t sure what I’d think about Simon and Baz to start off with, but I’ve since reread part of the books (namely the Simon and Baz parts) about a dozen times and my heart just flipflops for their cute selves. Every time I see a bit of fan art for this one, I literally squee.

9361589

Celia and Marco – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The magic on these pages, is literally the work of this couple and I find it really breathtaking that they created this living work of art for each other. I can’t help but feel inspired every time I pick up this one.  Aside from being apart of one of the great fictional love stories, this is one of those novels that takes you by the hand and asks you to follow it to Wonderland/Neverland/Narnia/Hogwarts/Le Cirque des reves.

18619684

Clare and Henry  – The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
This is basically the most boss complicated love story of all time considering the main couple are living on jumbled time lines, but it’s put together in such a way that I can’t help but include it on the list. I can’t imagine living the way they do, and yet their struggles are so poignant and touching. It also reminds me a lot of The Doctor and River Song which is a whole other OTP issue. Just saying.

 

19063

Liesel and Rudy – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
If you’ve read this book then you know that this is one of the most tragic, heart wrenching conclusions to a novel of all time, followed only by the Time Traveler’s Wife above. I sobbed with this book in my arms for three hours when I came to the end and I just kept reading Rudy and Liesel’s last moments together over and over again. I will never not be emotionally abused by these two. Never before or again have I been so broken by a book.

15819028

Chava and Ahmad – The Golem and The Jinni by Helen Wecker
I can’t wait until the sequel to this book comes out. Maybe their relationship was obvious to others but I wasn’t quite sure if they were ever even going to meet at one point, a hundred-ish pages in, but from the moment they met on the street I was rooting for them. Their’s is such an unconventional love story because it doesn’t have defining moments the way that romance does among teenagers in YA. There isn’t some epic battle coming or death at their doorsteps. Misfortune yes, but their courtship is a companionship before it’s even a friendship and it’s god damn beautiful. I’d love to see some fan art of these two in the future. Also, a film would be nice.

Harry potter spines 15th anniversary book cover

Hermione Granger and Draco Malfoy – Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

(Not Canon, I know but the fanfiction my god…)
Not gonna lie, this is my everything. I don’t think there’s another OTP that I ship as hard as this one, and while it has no relevance to the books, I strongly belief that Hermione never would have stayed with or lasted in a relationship with Ron. Not that I don’t like him, cause I do, but their relationship just never seemed believable for me, and I was happier with them remaining good friends, rather than having that romantic element thrown in there. Aside from the plethora of fanfiction out there which can give you about 2,000 ways in which it would theoretically work between these two characters, I would just like to say that Draco Malfoy was the second best student in their class making him an equal match intellectually. While I don’t think that they would have ever been a couple during the canon events of the books, I do think that it would be a realistic option after the war, and if we bend the canon a bit, well, go read my fangirl friends. The fanfiction is out there, all you have to do is google. O.o

Luna and Neville – Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
Again, this is not book canon, but it is movie canon and that’s canon enough for me. I just love the idea of these two together. I could see them quietly exploring the woods, Neville pointing out obscure plants and Luna telling him all about the strange unheard of creatures that like to live in, eat, and wear said plants. Idk, this is just a really happy hopeful OTP for me and I love seeing it crop up in fan art and fan fiction.

17286888

Adelice and Erik – Crewel series by Gennifer Albin 

Honestly I have mixed feelings about this one, and it probably wouldn’t make the list at all except that I just finished reading the series and I’m still unhappy with it’s ending.  No offense to Erik’s brother, but I just didn’t ever like him as much as Erik, and I’m deeply pissed off that Erik dies at the end of the book and Adelice is just like eh well, one brother is better than none. Deeply angry. I really want this one to be rewritten and it’s definitely one of those times when I want some awesome fanfiction author to make an alternative ending for this series because it just sucked across the board. But for a brief shining moment Erik and Adelice were sweet and caring and beautiful and their relationship is the one bright spot on the series for me.

7736182

Nico and Percy – Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan
I’m aware that this isn’t even close to canon, and maybe some people will disagree with me (in fairness I haven’t read Blood of Olympus so I may be missing some slight details BUT!!!) I think that it’s really obnoxious to create a gay character and have him visibly pine after a straight character and never have a chance (series wise) at love. It just rubs me the wrong way because every straight character pairs off, and it feels like a snub to Nico as if he’s somehow not worthy of the relationships that everyone else has. Now I love Annabeth, don’t get me wrong, but I feel like she would be better off alone, or with someone else other than Percy. I also really feel heartbroken for Nico puttering around by himself. The kid constantly gets the short end of the stick. I just want him to have a happy ending, and I think that Percy and Annabeth are better friends than a romantic couple. It’s very much the same way that I feel about Hermione and Ron. It’s like they are amazing examples of men and women being friends without alterior motives and then you have to force a romantic thing on them. Not every boy and girl who are friends have to suddenly hit puberty and be attracted to one another… >_< Either way, I would have loved for Riordan to give Nico a fighting chance with Percy. They were both smart, strong characters and I think they could have been a kick ass couple.

So there’s my favorite OTPs at the moment. Let me know down below which OTPs are on your list, and who I’ve forgotten. We might not share OTPs, but let us be fanboys and fangirls forever.

Best Wishes,

Ellie ❤

