As someone who primarily sees stories between pages, it’s sometimes easy to forget or pass over tales in other medium. Maybe it’s just because I don’t relate to a lot of the things I see online, but then again, I haven’t really been looking. So today I’d like to highlight two awesome stories that you can find on Youtube.

I Ship It – by Yulin Kuang, Mary Kate Wiles, Sean Persaud, Joey Richter

This short film is about a girl who suffers a bad breakup, enrolls in a Wizard Rock competition, and sings angsty Harry Potter music about it. I am a huge fan of Harry Potter. I could chat HP all day and night and be pleased as punch (does anyone know the origin of this saying because I’m only ever pleased when the punch is hypothetical. PSA: please don’t send me punch.) so seeing my all time favorite fandom represented was a nice surprise. I’ll be honest though, I totally watched this because Mary Kate Wiles co-stars in one of my other favorite online stories that I’ll get to in a minute, and Joey Richter is known for his work in Starkid Productions, such as the three Harry Potter musicals.

Enough about back story though, I absolutely loved this film. The script was funny, the actors were sharp and relatable. It had this endearing, heartbroken quality to it, mixed with the sense of love and community of HP fans, I loved it. 10/10

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries – Bernie Su, Hank Green, Ashley Clements,  Mary Kate Wiles, Laura Spencer, Julia Cho, and Daniel Vincent Gordh. Also so many other people.

I watched this from day one when it came out and I was never disappointed. The thing that really amazed me about this project wasn’t that it refreshed an old classic. I mean how many versions of Pride and Prejudice are there really? A fuck-ton. This series created something interactive and incredibly detailed. There were several different youtube channels, made and run by the characters to tell each of their sides of the story. There were twitter accounts, and all kinds of other tidbits that just blew my mind at the time. It was so freaking well done, that it won a freaking Emmy. If you want to dip your feet into world of digital story telling, I highly recommend this outstanding series.

If you want to know more about the series and it’s evolution you can check out the Pemberly Digital page which chronicles not only the Lizzie Bennet Diaries, but also several other retellings including, Emma Approved, Frankenstein MD, The March Family Letters, and Welcome to Sanditon.

Also for any Harry Potter fans out there, I leave you with links to the three Harry Potter fan made musicals, A Very Potter Musical, A Very Potter Sequel, and A Very Potter Senior Year. 

 

I hope you enjoy these awesome stories! Let me know down below what you’re favorite online stories are. I’m definitely in the mood for some more well done drama.

Best Wishes,

Ellie ❤

 

