As always, this weeks Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by the creators of the original meme, The Broke and Bookish. You can head over to their site for some bookish awesome, or to check out past and future Top Ten Tuesday topics.

The topic for today is historical or futuristic settings.

I must admit I’m much more a urban fantasy/paranormal girl but futuristic dystopians always call to me. It’s too bad with all the fun technology, they never seem to end well.

The Uglies Trilogy by Scott Westerfeld (futuristic)

24770

I know there are a lot of people who don’t like this series, but you’ve got to admit, riding around on hoverboard with Tally and Shay was pretty freaking boss. Home to the stereotypical dystopian government, Tally’s world also features, surgery to replace your bones with hard materials, shave off blemishes and make you gorgeous. Implant tattoos that can move across your skin, in time to your heart beat. And of course, safety harnesses that allow you to jump out of buildings and bounce to safety, for fun. I have loved this world for ten years, and I’d love to see more novels set here.

WWII

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, The Devil’s Arithmatic by Jane Yolen, As the Waltz was Ending by Emma Macalik Butterworth, (to name a few)

19063 91357 2367426

WWII is a time in history that simultaneously demands my interest and appalls me. I’ve probably read more books (fiction and non-fiction) about this time in history than any other. There are loads of good documentaries too. Something about this setting tugs at my heartstrings and maybe it has to due with immense respect and regret, but authors who chose to write in this time period seem to have an abundance of grace and strength. There will never be enough books to explain the tragedy but it’s one of those settings that requires our attention and inspires some of the best writers.

Ancient Egypt

I don’t know that I’ve ever read anything set in Egypt but I don’t know why it’s not more popular. Mummies and Pharaohs, what’s not to love. Maybe it’s that the detail we love best here are in the artifacts, but I for one would love to see a resurgence of this setting in YA.

Salem Witch Trials

While no good books spring to mind, I know that I’ve read several with this setting and they all kept my attention. And with magic, betrayal, possession, and intrigue why wouldn’t they. It seems that tragic times in history attract me, and I can’t help but wonder how people justify the things they do to other people. Of course, as a fantasy lover, there’s never too much magic in books for me. I’d love to see some more witchy books take it back to this time period and maybe rewrite some history.

Ancient Greece/Rome

How about them Gods? While there are plenty of books that feature Greek and Roman Gods as main characters, I’ve only ever run across one which takes it all the way back to the ancient days. Which in my opinion is where all the fun lies. Shout out to Pandora by Anne Rice, vampires and ancient Greece, what more do you need to know.

159436

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

9361589

Technically this falls into the Victorian London setting, and I’m all for that, but I’m pretty sure that a dozen authors could have a blast in Erin’s circus. The magic that’s cooked up in this baby might not be futuristic, but the wisps of old London definitely steal some of the show. Another great addition to this era is The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (futuristic)

9969571

A future where everyone lives in the squalor and escapes to the OASIS which is pretty much everything you ever wanted in virtual reality. As someone who likes to dabble in some video games, and gets rather addicted to others (FF14) I definitely want to spend a huge chunk of time in OASIS. The laziest part of me also wants the virtual reality suit that makes you work out in order to access your computer because that would be tremendously helpful. I could definitely deal with more novels featuring virtual reality and the pros and cons of that kind of lifestyle.

Crewel Trilogy by Gennifer Albin (futuristic)

17286888

Having just finished this series, I can safely say that I’d love to be able to manipulate reality by weaving. Characters in this novel can see the threads of the universe down to what a person or plant is composed of and all the way up to lightening in the sky and crops. Using a loom to craft and create in that way seems to me to be another kind of virtual reality. You can ever change the genetic makeup of a person, and the way they look and think. Obviously this has the potential to go down hill, thus a trilogy was born, but the principle idea of understanding everything around you to that degree and being able to alter it, is really interesting to me.

At this point I think I’ve run out of settings that I’d actually like to live in, or see more of in fiction, so I’m going to cheat a little and say that I’m waiting for either, more Harry Potter novels in the future (see what I did there), or for JKR to reveal she’s a witch and open up Hogwarts to the rest of us muggles, cause magic is just another form of science that defies explanation right? Is that futuristic enough. I hope so.

Thank you all for reading. Let me know down below what settings you like, and if you would like to see more of the worlds and places I mentioned on shelves today.

Best wishes,

Ellie ❤

 

