Craft

This meme was created by Sam at Taking on the World of Words. If you’d like to participate leave a link to your post in the comments of Sam’s blog so that other’s can find your response.

It’s Wednesday people and that means it’s time to ask three questions.

1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading…

68429

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson which is the second in the Mistborn trilogy following a girl named Vin who uses her power to ingest metals and gleam special abilities such as increased strength, speed, and near flight, to protect the Final Empire which is in chaos following the crazy shit that went down in book 1. If you’re a fan of high fantasy, or loved Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, then I highly recommend picking this up.

Recently finished reading…

17185496

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes. I just talked about this novel last week in my Top ten releases that I meant to read in 2015, so you can check out a little more about it there. Essentially this is the story of a young girl who grew up in a cult, had her hands chopped off, and then is detained in juvie after the community is burned to the ground. I absolutely loved this novel. It gave me chilled, wowed me, and made me laugh which I wasn’t expecting. I wound up reading it in one sitting, when I only intended to read the first couple chapters, so I highly recommend it for anyone who likes mysteries, cults, or who doesn’t think that contemporary fiction is for them. 5/5

Up next…

20560137

An Ember in the ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Again this was one that I meant to get to last year and it just didn’t happen. This is a YA Dystopian type story about a slave and a soldier in a roman-esque society where everyone must obey or risk the consequences ie. death. This peaked my interest when I first heard about it and it’s been sitting on my shelf for far too long so I’m taking the plunge.

So that’s what I’m up to this week. Let me know in the comments what you’ve read recently and if you’ve got any book recommendations.

Best wishes,

Ellie ❤

