It’s Tuesday, and you know what that means… another TOP TEN TUESDAY! Can you tell I’m excited?

This weeks topic is 2015 Releases that I meant to get to but didn’t. I didn’t actually realize how many there were until I started picking my favorites for this list because apparently I’ve missed like a whole slew of books that I wanted to read, but now I’ve got a renewed sense of excitement so it all works out in the end. If you’re interested in seeing what other topics are in the line up for TTTuesday, you can check out The Broke and Bookish who created this meme.

Without further ado, here, have some of my TBR guilt…

16096824

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: Apparently this novel combines two of my favorite things, Beauty and the Beast, and Faeries. That’s all I know. Aside from the fact that everyone loves this book, and I still haven’t bought it. (I will be remedying that soon though.)

20560137

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: Inspired by ancient Rome, (you had me right there) I believe this is a dystopia/military -esque novel, and since it’s YA it naturally has a main girl and boy plot lines. I imagine they probably get together at the end. I actually bought this like a week after it came out, but I was distracted by The Wrath of the Dawn, and then Vicious, and then well, let’s just say that I never got around to it. But it’s near the top of my list for 2016.

18336965

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga: I really want to read this one, but I’m honestly worried about it triggering me. It’s a book about a girl who wants to kill herself and a suicide pact she makes with a boy she meets online. I guess there’s some kind of love story involved that helps bring them out of their depression, but as someone who is bipolar and therefore deals with depression and suicidal thoughts on a regular basis, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to make it through this novel. Then again, I really try to push myself to do the things that make me uncomfortable just so they can’t hold sway over me anymore, so I might get to this one sooner than I think.

23395680

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff: I bought this as soon as it came out, but as you may recall if you read a lot of YA, October was the most bitchin’ month for releases. I still haven’t gotten through all of them. Obviously. So Illuminae is a science fiction YA told through a mish mosh of documents, IMs, emails, interviews etc. I don’t really know a lot about it other than the format is very weird, it has the coolest book jacket of all time, and there’s this relationship between the two main characters who break up at the very beginning of the novel. I’ve been told that you shouldn’t know a lot going into this one, but it’s actually the very next book that I intend to pick up.

22910900

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness: I’ve only read the Monster Calls by Ness and I really loved it so I bought a few more of his books. Trouble is they are all still sitting in my TBR pile and I’m hesitant to pick up another before making my way through at least one more of his books. That being said, this book is some kind of superhero book, about all the people who aren’t the chosen ones.  I guess it’s like the cheeky side kick to a super hero type novel, which I can totally get behind. One way or another, I’ll get to this in 2016.

20643052

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine: I love The Morganville Vampires series, so I’ll pick up any book that Caine decides to read. Unfortunately I’ve yet to see this one in any of my bookstores, despite the fact that it came out in July. I may have to just break down and order it online. This novel centers around the Library of Alexandria, in a alternative universe where it survived and now it’s a presence unto itself across the globe, controlling the flow of information, while the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden. Until, of course, the shit hits the fan. I love books about books. This has been low on my radar lately because I haven’t seen it around, but just thinking about it has reinvigorated my excitement.

19542841

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: Okay main character’s father dies. He can’t get over the grief. His girlfriend temporarily leaves down and he accidentally starts falling in love with a guy. So he decides he might be better off erasing his memory. Wow. I feel like that’s one hell of a back jacket, what the hell happens in the rest of the book. Damn. I totally forgot about this one, but as soon as the cover came up while I was scrolling through Goodreads for this post it hit me how awesome this book sounded. Again this is one that I’ve not seen around in person, but I really love books that explore sexuality and the  “norms” imposed by society and family etc, so I can’t wait to get my hands on this.

23341894

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone: Is it just me or does there seem to be a huge increase in the diversity of books released in YA the past couple of years? This novel is about a popular girl suffering from OCD and her struggle to keep it a secret. She also keeps her new friendship with a less popular student a secret from her old friends and slowly finds herself with a group of local misfits who spend their time in what sounds like a poetry coven. Throw in (I quote GR) a guitar playing love interest and we’re all set up  with our bucket of popcorn to watch the shit hit the fan. I don’t know why but I get a Mean Girls vibe from this one, which is awesome, but also, while I usually hate contemporary, I’m totally drawn to the diversity thing. I’m really glad that teens today have these characters to see and read about so that they don’t have to feel so alone, cause that sucked when I was in high school and all the protagonists were either the popular girl who was secretly unhappy because of ___ or the misfit girl who was just misunderstood until she did something crazy awesome___ and became popular. Lame. Also this book has a crazy high rating of 4.15, so it seems to have been done well.

17185496

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes: Is about a girl who lives in a cult with her family until she rebels. Soon after the Prophet is murdered, the camp is torched and Minnow winds up in a juvenile detention center until an FBI detective makes a deal with her for her freedom. Cults fascinate me. Like for real, I have no idea how to cope with that kind of blind faith, and I certainly can’t imagine placing that level of trust in crazy people so I’m really intrigued by this one. It’s also a topic that I’ve never seen covered outside of documentaries so I’m curious to see how the novel is going to play out.

20308537

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough: Love and Death personified chose people to influence, creating tragic romances which they both influence in hopes of winning. Death has always won up until now. Basically this just sounds awesome. I love when concepts are personified, it’s something that plays a huge role in my own books so I’m really eager to get to this one.

 

So these are the ten new releases I didn’t get to in 2015. There were like ten more, but I figured I’d stick with ten since Top Ten Tuesday has such a great ring to it. I’m still eager to read all of these so they’ll probably take priority in these first few months of the new year. Although, this year also seems like a great year for releases. So many books, so little money. Anyway, I hope you like this post, and let me know down below what books you didn’t get to in 2015 and what you’re most excited to read this coming year.

Best wishes,

Ellie

