Not gonna lie, I read a hell of a lot of books this year. 100 to be exact. If you’d like to know everything I read and check out some of the reviews that didn’t make it to this blog than check out my Goodreads here.

Today I’d like to highlight some of my favorite reads of 2015.

Fantasy

If you like magic, wonder, and the very essence of creative storytelling give these stories a shot. In order, these stories feature a gang of criminals and their heist of a killer magic drug, a Harry Potter-esque magical boarding school featuring good humor and the most spectacular vampire/wizard gay romance of all time (and possibly ever), a whimsical circus created in the midst of a deathly bet and budding romance, and lastly, a romp through several parallel versions of London with varying degrees of magic by a spectacular duo of a man who makes doors to other worlds, and a girl who dreams of being a pirate but specializes in thievery. 

Sci-fi

If video games, superheroes, and dystopian stories are your cup of tea then you’re in for a treat. 

Middle Grade

A stunning take on the fairy tale/ happily ever after theme, wrapped up in a boarding school comedy, teeming with malicious undertones and warnings. 

School for Good And Evil Trilogy by Soman Chainani

Children’s

A darling tale about a father’s extraordinary adventure to procure some milk amidst dinosaurs who pilot hot air balloons, aliens from outer space, and ancient human in time.

Fortunately the Milk by Neil Gaiman

Contemporary

One of these broke my heart, and the other busted my gut. I dare you to guess which is which. 

Writing related

If you write, read this. Hands down the best book on writing I’ve ever read. I recommend this to anyone who wants to tell stories of any kind.

Story Engineering by Larry Brooks.

Non-Fiction

These are all additions to my life library. Dealing with topics like depression, anxiety, productivity, creation, kindness, obligation, human suffering, and how to happy, these are now my go to list of books to give as gifts. Everyone should read them.

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

 Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon

Ethics for the New Millenium by the Dalai Lama

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Yoga Therapy for Stress and Anxiety by Robert Butera

Comics

Sex, violence, space, war, aliens, so much snark you won’t know what to do with yourself. One of the best stories being told at the moment, and certainly the best comic of the year.

Saga (vol 1-5 are currently available) by Brain k. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

So here’s my list. I’m really enjoying reading and watching everyone’s top lists this year. My goodreads tbr has taken a serious hit. As for 2016, I’m hoping to read 125 books since I hit my goal this year and actually went about two months (over the course of the year) without reading anything.

Let me know down below what your favorite books are from this past reading year and I’ll see you next time.

Best wishes,

Ellie.

