Mental health is just as important as physical health, if not more so. 

Sometime in the first few weeks of 2015, I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and anxiety, and I’ve spent the year tackling medication changes and peoples reactions. Then in the early spring I had a three month period where I was out of work with what, after many tests and wrong medications, turned out to be a hernia in my esophagus. Then this fall, I took a wrong step at work and tore my plantar fascia which gave me nearly three months on crutches, and pain medication. If it wasn’t for yoga, meditation and journaling, I probably wouldn’t have  survived the year. It’s tempting for me to say that I hated 2015, but honestly it taught me a valuable lesson that I’ll carry with me for the rest of my life. If you have your head on straight (which is not easy to do with mood swings mind you) then you can withstand drama and pain and embarrassment.

Good Enough can mean a world of difference between one nearly perfect unfinished project and finishing ten good ones. 

Grace is a comic artist living in Japan and she has some beautiful things to say about perfectionism and the arts. “Perfection is stupid.” Right?! If you create anything, and still struggle to have faith in your content, or share it with the world, check this out.

Our actions build our world -Hank Green

So this video came out in May just in time for frantic sleep deprived graduates to watch it instead of procrastinating more on Tumblr. I graduated 3 and a half years ago, (I did just have to pause, think about that, sigh, and then deflate a little, but nevertheless…) yet this video hit right at the messages I’d been stumbling upon all year. So much so that I bought the poster. If you’ve ever questioned your place in the world, or your potential, check this out.

Make Good Art

I know I’ve shared this before, and to be honest, I’m not entirely sure that I first saw it in 2015, but this was the year that it finally sunk in. It’s got a lot to do with my first point actually. Regardless of anything else that’s going on in your life, if you want to create, than do it, and live with those goals in mind.

 

And now onto the less philosophical advice.

If you’re looking to buy cheap books, because like me, you love to read, then check out Bookoutlet and Thriftbooks. I wished I’d known about these stores years ago. 

If you’re ever depressed, Disney movies and fuzzy blankets change the game.

PSA: If you’re human then at some point you may (probably (I hope you don’t but…)) suffer from a bout of depression. DEPRESSION LIES!!! Whenever your mind tells you you’re not good enough, smart enough, pretty enough, etc. please remember it’s a lying son of a bitch and you will survive this. Que theme music.

 

So I really wanted to give you guys the 15 things I learned in 2015, but these are the only things that come to mind and aren’t something you’d find embroidered on a cushion so I guess this is it. As it goes, it’s good enough.

Here’s to a lovely 2016 full of books and nerdy goodness.

Best wishes,

Ellie

 

 

 

