Hello lovelies. If you follow The Broke and The Bookish, (the creators of this weekly feature) then you probably already know that this wasn’t exactly the prompt for today, but I haven’t exactly been keeping up with movie releases and I’m too lazy to go looking for book related ones that I don’t already know about. So today I’m changing things up a little bit. Hope ya’ll are okay with that.

If not, you’re dismissed.

On to the list: (imagine some boss orchestra music here please :D)

  1. Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan.  Ahem. Don’t tell me they already made a film. They didn’t. They made a travesty. I can’t even begin to disclose the plethora of ways the two attempts at Percy films enrage me. Suffice it to say, we need an accurate film with Percy and the gang. While we’re chatting to the wizard film genie, can he just get the entire series made HP style. Please and thank you.
  2. A Darker Shade of Magic By V.E. Schwab. This book was so beautiful and colorful without flashy pictures or cinematography. Can you imagine Kel slipping through grey London, into red London, cause I can. Also, I need Lila in all her pirate glory, prepping for the ball/party among all the splendor of red London. Oh and the black London, zombie making, magic evil people. (I know. What a description right?! I’m trying to be vague for those of you who haven’t read this glorious book yet. What are you waiting for?) Ugh. I need this in my life.
  3. The Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins. I actually still have the last book in the trilogy to finish, but I think this is one of those books that probably would translate into a funny teen/romantic comedy quite well. It’s not super serious, or full of special effects, but it’s so much like a teen drama, that I bet it would make a good slumber party, chill on the couch with some Ben and Jerry’s, good feeling, kind of flick(s). Of course I haven’t read the last book yet so I could be wrong. Shrugs.
  4. The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine. Okay, there is a web series based on this show, but it’s pretty low budget with some subpar acting and I still managed to enjoy it. I can only imagine how amazing this would be if we got a series, although honestly I feel like this might be something better adapted for tv. Like two or three books per season. I still have the last two books in this series to finish, but the interplay between the characters makes it one of my favorite YA series, and it single handedly brought vampires back to the pre-Twilight,  Buffy and Angel level of awesome days. At least in my head.
  5. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Hands down, one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read in my life. It’s a visual masterpiece and short of it coming to life, holodeck style, (please make this a thing. Please make this a thing. PLEASE make this a thing!) I need this to be a movie. It’s got so much magic, and costumes, and fire and tents filled with trickery and awesome. I haven’t experienced this much magic in one place since Harry Potter. Literally. The need is real.
  6. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I’m honestly not sure if this would turn out great or not because it’s so language heavy, but I think a talented director/screenwriter could probably adapt it with success if they toyed around with some beautiful narration over dreamy fantasy backdrops. Also, I am not sure who I’d cast for Kvothe, but that would also be pretty tough… still. This has mad potential.
  7. The Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld. I’m sorry, but when I read these books in high school, they made me actually pick up my physics text books for about three months while I tried to ascertain whether or not a hoverboard like Tally’s would be feasible before I hit college. (The answer, sadly, is no.) But god these would make great action films. Come on Hollywood! Continue the trend. Finish the Hunger Games, and Allegiant, and take on Tally and Shay. I really want to experience going over the roller coaster track on hoverboard in 3d. I hate 3d, but I would see this a million times. Why isn’t this a thing yet?
  8. The School for Good and Evil By Soman Chainani. I am a huge fan of fairy tale retellings and this series will hit the nail on the head for me. I’d love to see Agatha and Sophie and all their misadventures brought to stunning color. I still haven’t finished the last book in this series, but I feel like the first book, is an oddly good standalone, so even if they didn’t continue the series it would turn out alright.
  9. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. Truth be told, I’m not sure if this would make a good film. But, I’d love to see Simon and Baz and their love story on the big screen. And I bet the magic would be pretty comical. The only problem I foresee is that it might be too silly, or fangirl-esque (see what I did there O.o) for mainstream audiences to appreciate. But I know I’d probably love it.
  10. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Every video gamer and sci-fi nerd (this girl right here) would love this as a movie. It totally wouldn’t matter if you hadn’t read the book. Video games are as much a part of common culture as the film industry at this point, to the point where even little old grandmas are playing candy crush and farmville. We can all relate to something this madtastically awesome. .. I just made a new word. I like it.
  11. BONUS : Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Visually this would be quite stunning. Also, I feel like the creepy factor in the books was pretty high, so seeing it on screen would probably make me fall to pieces, and there just aren’t enough scary things in YA let alone in theaters.

 

So I hope you liked my Top Ten Tuesday. I really enjoyed making this list, and maybe someday soon we’ll start to see some of these hit the big screen. I think a few of them may have had the movie rights optioned off already, but until I see the trailers I’m not getting my hopes up. Side note, is anyone else super excited about A Series of Unfortunate Events that Netflix is in charge of, cause I am. *jumps up and down repeatedly*

Have a great bookish night everyone.

Best wishes,

Ellie ❤

PS. It was totally Tuesday, five seconds ago when I finished this, so it totally still counts… I’m really bad at remembering things like days of the week you guys. Don’t judge. >_<

