This book is about mental illness. As someone who suffers from bipolar disorder along with mild anxiety and a possible border line personality diagnosis, this book is my spirit animal. Half the time It made me want to increase my meds/book an appointment to see my doctor and then I’d turn a few pages and think, “Nah, I’m good.” I haven’t enjoyed reading a book this much in a very long time. I also strained most of my stomach muscles from all the laughing.Jenny Lawson details her experiences with anxiety, depression and a host of other conditions that all play a part in her mentally ill status. As a member of the club I found myself nodding along whenever I had a chance to catch my breath. All hilarious ness aside, this book brings to light a lot of the less than stellar details of living with depression and anxiety. It’s an incredibly important topic, mental illness, that doesn’t get the respect or understanding it deserves from most media or society in general.

I highly recommend reading this book if you or anyone you know suffers from a mental illness. Also I suggest frequent bathroom breaks to avoid pissing yourself laughing. I’m not kidding.

Five (million) stars.

