Under the never sky follows a girl named Aria who’s thrust from her dystopian technology based home into the wastelands after a prank gone wrong. Perry is a head strong hunter and wannabe blood lord who is on a mission to save his nephew. Worlds collide yada yada yada.
I’m conflicted about this book. On one hand, I don’t feel a super strong connection to the characters and even after 370 pages I’m largely confused as to what the hell an Aether is (some kind of electrical storm that looks like a cross between a thunderstorm and maybe the northern lights but that also rains fire down on the earth). At the same time I like the idea of heightened senses to the point of hearing someone’s thoughts, and feeling their emotions and the ending was completely unpredictable and fantastic. I had actually decided as I came up toward the end of the book that I wouldn’t be continuing on in the series but the last two chapters made me want to rethink that decision.
I found this book to be very slow at the beginning and it was entirely due to vocabulary. There are so many words that are used without context or definition, scire, aud, reverie, pod, aether, etc. The meanings eventually become clear, mostly, but the first few chapters of the book were definitely harder to get through because of it.
Also none of the characters feel really distinct to me. In part it seems like they are hard to visualize, but even if I knew exactly what they looked like, they just don’t feel like real people to me. It was hard to really care about them. There just wasn’t enough to them, detail, emotion, action. It’s funny that a book where the characters can read each others emotions, lacks emotions, but that precisely the problem. Since Perry knows what everyone is feeling, he just tells the reader exactly what the others are feeling and it keeps the author from ever exploring those emotions because it would mean repeating herself.
Honestly, the first chapter and the last chapter were the most interesting of the entire book.
There was also a bit of insta-love. I mean Perry and Aria do hate each other at the beginning, but once they stop hating each other, they move directly into love and rendering or whatever the bonding word is.
This book just tried to be so many things, science fiction, dystopia, virtual reality, tribe culture, romance, action adventure. The problem is that it didn’t really succeed at any of them.
Whether or not I continue is entirely based on whether my library carries these books because I won’t be purchasing them as I will never reread them.
3 stars.

 

