Easily one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. This book had everything I could possibly want. Romance, humor, danger, video games, intense action, and so much glorious nerd content that I barely understood any of it. Even though I would consider myself to be a gamer and a nerd I didn’t know even 1/15th of the references in this book. I wouldn’t consider that to necessarily be a bad thing. Since this book hit me right in the feels, I know that an epic book hang over is coming. However, I now have a hug catalog of old school video games, movies and tv shows to catch up on. While I will be no means make my way through all of the references mentioned in this book. I do have a substantial list that I’m itching to start on. The first of which being Adventure.

For the uninitiated Ready Player One follows Parzival, a teenager in 2044 (ish) who along with the entire world practically lives inside a virtual reality called OASIS. Side note: I am super jealous of how detailed and amazing this world sounds, even though reality bites and it has reinvigorated my desire for the Virtuix Omni gaming treadmill. In this bleak future, the powerhouse behind OASIS Jim Halliday leaves his entire fortune (a ridiculous sum of money entering into the hundreds of billions) to the winner of his contest. Essentially it’s a series of challenges devoted to 80’s gaming, film and music references.

As a 90’s kid, I feel as though I definitely missed out on something amazing.

To say much more would ruin the many glorious points and discoveries of this novel, but suffice it to say the characters were crazy realistic, to the point where they have become real people in my mind, the action never seemed to end and the plot was absolutely enthralling. Aside from the contest winner, I never once knew what was going to happen next.

This book dragged me along today, and as I powered through the last 250 pages before, during and after work, I can honestly say that I haven’t enjoyed a fictional world this much in a very long time.

Do yourself a favor and read this book. Ernest Cline has just become one of my auto buy authors and I can’t wait to see what he does next. Also, I’m pretty sure that his author photo is him posing in front of a delorian, which is fabulous.

