So I’m working on a rewrite of my current wip. It’s going well, but I’m not making as much progress as I had hoped. Partly it’s due to stress, but mostly it’s due to goofing off to relieve said stress. So what’s a young novelist to do?

Channel Nanowrimo of course. For the uninitiated Nanowrimo stands for National Novel Writing Month which is traditionally held in November (but does see activity year round by official and unofficial writing groups). The goal is to write a 50,000 word first draft of a novel in 30 days. It’s quite fun, and not nearly as crazy as it sounds. If you want crazy try Milwordy.

Regardless, I’ve found that during a wrimo month, when I’ve really dedicated myself to a project, I’m able to crank out 5k, 10k and even 12k a day to push a story into being. Years ago when I first began participating those 5k+ were mostly rubbish, but over the years I’ve developed a number of techniques to make sure that the words I put down are decent. And today I’ve decided to put that all to the test. In hopes of taking a sizable chunk out of my wip, I’m going to be attempting a 10k day.

It’s currently 1:20 am June 10th and hopefully come 11:59 pm I’ll be 10,000 words closer to finishing this draft.

Follow me on twitter for updates, and wish me luck.

Let me know in the comments if you’ve ever participated in Nanowrimo or what kinds of writing tricks you use to get words on the page.

