Please note that there are no spoilers in this review. While I could probably think of something to complain about, not a single thing comes to mind, and honestly I want everyone to read this so I can fangirl over the characters but on the off chance that a reader hasn’t read it, I absolutely cannot spoil one of my favorite books that I’ve ever read. So there.
I don’t even know where to begin with this review. I wish that I could give this 6/5 stars.
This is one of the most heavily character driven novels I’ve ever read, and a lot of times, while the stories are good, the writing comes off as a quick read and easily written. Not the case with Vicious. I often had to reread the page I’d just read, not because the writing was confusing or poorly written. Quite the opposite. V.E. Schwab’s style makes every word important. The story itself is spectacular, but it’s told in such a way that keeps you at the edge of your seat, unable to put the book down for hours at a time. And yet, as I said, I constantly found myself turning the page back only to gleam more information and nuance from the previous section. More so at the beginning than the end, but I think that was partly due to the fact I’d grown accustomed to taking my time and analyzing each line as I read it, rather than letting her witty dialogue and thrilling violence/darkness carry me forward into the next page.
For those unacquainted with Vicious, it’s chapters alternate between the tale of two college roommates testing their thesis regarding ExtraOrdinary people (think superheroes) and their creation, versus the repercussions ten years later. Victor Vale has just escaped from prison hell bent on finding his old friend Eli Cardale and honestly to tell you anything else would spoil the glorious nature of this captivating experience.
For those who’ve read this, can we not agree that Sydney is one of the most spectacular young female characters to ever grace fiction?! I’ve loved her since page one, but I think my favorite line of her’s is this “Sydney made a mental note to leak that detail wherever he ended up.” I’m also quite fond of the line preceding it but I don’t want to give any spoilers.
Ugh. I’m so glad that I finished this book because I’ve been savoring it for a week. But now that it’s over I feel a void where these characters have been.

Absolutely a fantastic journey.
Do yourself a favor and pick this up.

