I’m not usually one for monthly TBR lists if only because I enjoy picking my books at random, but this month I’ve got a line up of things I’m half way through, and a stack of things I’d like to get through so here we are. I also seem destined to read a metric fuck ton this month. That can be in part attributed to the #crushyourtbr and #boutofbooks read-a-thons happening May 15th-17th and May 11th-17th respectively. But to be perfectly honest. I’m sick as a dog, and do to what doctor’s suspect is Whooping cough, I’ve landed about 2.5 weeks of vacation time from work. Although vacation is probably too kind a word. I’m sleeping somewhere in the vicinity of 12-17 hours a day, and I spend the rest of my time wishing I was asleep due to coughing, exhaustion and this zombie gnawing on my brain headache that persists on persisting.

But I’ve already completed 3 books this week and I’m halfway through three more, as well has having gotten 100 pages into a DNR, so I suspect that I’ll be fairly active with reviews and that’s at least one upside to my current state of woe. It’s always nice to check things off the TBR, and while it’s very unlikely that I’ll completely eliminate my TBR shelf this year (though I’d like to), I’d be quite happy to bring it down from about 120 books to 40 or so.

Without further bitching, here’s my plan for the month (while allowing for the fact that I’m a week late on the uptake here…)

 

The Selection by Kiera Cass (read 5/7)

The Elite by Kiera Cass (read 5/7)

The One by Kiera Cass ( 150 pages in on 5/8)

I have also requested the fourth book The Heir from my library but I’m not sure if they’ll get a copy by the end of the month so that’s kind of up in the air, but I’d like to finish the series if possible.

I’ve already posted reviews on the first two books, but this series is essentially light, funny, romantically inclined reading which is exactly what I needed in my stupor. So far I’m enjoying it and have few bad things to say.

Perfect Ruin by Lauren Destefano (5/3)

This was also a TBR jar pick for me, and I did enjoy it. Unfortunately my library doesn’t have the series, and I didn’t love it enough to buy a copy of the second book, so I’m not sure if or when I’ll be finishing the series.

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne 

This has probably sat on my bookshelf since it came out. A gift from my mother back when she was more of a crystal-energy-pagan-artist, the secret to The Secret is essentially positive thinking, but I’ll do a review once I finish it. I’m 160 pages in at the moment and while it’s not terrible, I’ve heard the schpeel before due to my proclivity for new age/pagan life lessons, so I’ll be happy to just get it off my shelf and off to a new home once the month is through.

Ethics for the New Millennium by The Dalai Lama

Easily one of the best books I’ve read this year, I’m about 170 pages in at the moment, and while I don’t read a lot of nonfiction, this one in particular has touched my quite deeply. There is a big emphasis on aspiring to do the right thing, and to be a kinder person, both to ourselves and our communities at large, and I very much appreciate that it manages to be inspiring without being preachy.

Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse

I honestly have no idea what this is about but the friend who loaned me the Dalai Lama book also shoved this in my hands along with Plato’s Republic and a book by Nietzsche and it’s relatively short so I’ll hopefully power through this as well, though it’s admittedly low priority on my list.

The Tragedy Papers by Elizabeth Laban

This was my TBR jar pick for the month and I will fully admit that I wasn’t pleased. I picked this up when everyone was raving about it last summer (or perhaps longer), but it’s sat on my ipad since then. So far it’s the most surprising thing I’ve begun this month, because I was not looking forward to reading it, and disliked the first chapter, but it quickly changed my mind and so far (30+ pages in) I’m actually enjoying it.

Vicious by V. E. Schwab and A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

I’ve heard nothing but positive reviews and picked these up yesterday after falling in love with the first few pages. I’m a big fan of darker fiction with a whimsical or magical undertone and these seem to fit the bill perfectly. Of everything on the list, I’m most excited to read these but I’m going to give my brain another day or too to recover so that I don’t miss out on any major plot points, but I’m super excited to have added these to my collection.

Bunheads by Sophie Flack

Back in my high school days, I studied ballet so I’ve always mean to get around to this, and a few months back I picked this up for about 3 dollars from my favorite resell book shop. Flipping through it, it strikes me as an easy read and I could do with that between being stupidly ill and all these read-a-thons.

Sons of the dark; Barbarian and Escape by Lynne Ewing

These are the first two books in the spin off series of The Daughters of the Moon which has been one of my favorite Middle Grade/YA series since the age of 12. I picked these up for 2.50 a piece used and figured they would make some light fast paced reading to keep my brain from atrophying. We’ll see how that goes.

Lastly on my list are The Malmont Vampire Chronicle and An Unholy Alliance by Cynthia Dumarin. These are somewhat romantic, somewhat violent, true blood style vampires meets Pride and Prejudice or perhaps Jane Eyre. I had beta read some the original draft way back when these first came out a few years ago, but haven’t picked them up since they were actually published, so I’m hoping to check these off as well, and continue with the rest of the series. Also, I’d like to convince the author to get off her butt and start writing again, since she’s been in a bit of a funk for the last year, and perhaps championing her MC’s will do the trick. 🙂

So that’s my planned TBR for the month of May, it looks like a lot all stacked up like that, but I’m a little nervous that it won’t be enough books. But I’ve got more than enough on my shelf to fill in the blanks if needed. I’ll be posting reviews as I finish these. Good luck to anyone participating in the read-a-thons. I’d love to see what everyone else is planning on reading so please comment below if you’d like. Happy Reading.

