I was nominated for this by Flora of Book, Line and Thinker, and also by Kate of Crazy Antic Reviews so first of all thank you ladies, because of this I’ve found a bunch of wonderful new blogs to follow and I can’t wait to see what everyone is reading.

liebster-award-logo

So the rules are as follows.

– Link back to the person who nominated you
– Give 11 random facts about yourself
– Answer 11 questions from your nominator
– Nominate 11 new and obscure bloggers
– Come up with 11 questions for them to answer
– Inform your nominees

So 11 random facts about me:

1. My dream house is a 500 sqft (or less) tiny house in the middle of the woods, where I can read and write and peace. Theoretically the money I’ll save from lower utilities, smaller mortgage, less up keep, and no room to buy superfluous crap, will go toward traveling the world and books.

2. I have four ferrets who like to steal my books and sleep on the shelves, Loki, Hermes, Belle and Maleficent(named before the film was released fyi. )

3. Food and I are mortal enemies. I’m allergic to soy, gluten, eggs, almonds, tomatoes, turkey, and all uncooked fruits and vegetables. 😦

4. I speak French and lived in Grenoble (the french alps) for a year in college where I spent all my time in bookstores, hiking, and writing fiction in hole in the wall cafes.

5. I’ve participated in 12+ Nanowrimo months (Challenges to write 50,000 word novels in 1 month) and I’ve won 6 times. Between those challenges and my regular writing schedule I’ve written just over 650,000 words of fiction since June 2011.

6. I’m bipolar with rapid cycling, so I can be very manic or depressed all in the space of single day which leads to some really interesting creative projects. Like the time I painted a Tardis on my door, Rainbow dash, Pinkie Pie and Fluttershy, the Cheshire cat head from American Mcgee’s Alice along with J.K. Rowling, Disney and Nerdfighter quotes in a giant mural on my wall, at 4am because why not. I also spent 8 hours in February making an 11 foot giant squid plushie on a whim. 😀

7. Without fail, whenever I buy books, exactly half are read within 2 weeks of purchase, the remaining books sit on my shelf for months or years.

8. I hate when book covers cut off characters heads and purposely avoid buying them because I don’t want them on my shelf. I’ll borrow them from the library instead.

9. A kitten showed up under my porch in January all skin and bone. She now lives in my bathroom and goes by Madame Skeletina.

10. Dr. who re-instilled my childhood fear of the dark with “The Silence in the Library/The Forest of the Dead”.

11. If a book just has reviews across it’s back and no blurbs, I usually put it down. Why tell me how great the book is if I can’t tell what the book is about. >_<

Since two people nominated me, I have 22 questions. I’m going to start off with Kate’s questions.

1. Have you read any books recently by an author whose new to you?

I just read the Delirium Trilogy which the best YA series I’ve read this year. I hadn’t heard a lot about those books, or Lauren Oliver, but I’ve recently added all her work to my tbr on goodreads. New to me, but definitely one to watch.

2. Is there a single item, a treasured possession that you never leave the house without?

Not really. I used to never go anywhere without my ipod, but I’m kind of a home body now. I rarely leave the house except to go to work, get groceries, or run/walk. So I don’t need much.

3. The typical physical book vs ebook vs audio book debate, which do you prefer?

I hate audio books. The two exceptions are the Stephen Fry narration of the Harry Potter series, and The Kingkiller Chronicles.  In general I will ebooks if it’s cheaper and to save space in my house. But if I really love a book I will repurchase it in hard copy. Even though I have an ipad, I do most of my reading on my phone because it isn’t heavy and it doesn’t wake my husband up with the light.

4. What is one place you’ve always wanted to travel to? (This can either be a fictional or non fictional place)

Hogwarts. I’m actually wearing a Hogwarts sweat shirt right now which my parents bought me when I was 11. That should say something. Aside from the fact that I’m the same size at 25 … Also golden snitch earrings and Ravenclaw/Hufflepuff bracelets. I’m decked out today.

5. Favourite quote from a book you’ve read recently?

“Take down the walls.
That is, after all, the whole point.
You do not know what will happen if you take down the walls; you cannot see through to the other side, don’t know whether it will bring freedom or ruin, resolution or chaos. It might be paradise or destruction.
Take down the walls.
Otherwise you must live closely, in fear, building barricades against the unknown, saying prayers against the darkness, speaking verse of terror and tightness.
Otherwise you may never know hell; but you will not find heaven, either. You will not know fresh air and flying.
All of you, wherever you are: in your spiny cities, or your one bump towns. Find it, the hard stuff, the links of metal and chink, the fragments of stone filling you stomach.
And pull, and pull, and pull.
I will make a pact with you: I will do it if you will do it, always and forever.
Take down the walls.” -Requiem by Lauren Oliver

6. Which book genre do you prefer above all others?

Paranormal Ya/Dystopian

7. Which author would be your best friend?

Maureen Johnson or John Green.

8. If you could pick an era to live in which one would you choose?

Right now. I’m clumsy and I have loads of weird medical issues, and I like running water and flushing toilets, and books on demand. Definitely now.

9. Do you have any bookish habits?

I don’t know that I can distinguish what are book habits and what are simply my life at this point. I read a lot with cups of tea, and big sweaters, or I curl up in bed with a stack of book and I always keep a notebook on hand for writing down stray thoughts or quotes. I used to only read one book at a time, but lately I’ve got 3-5 going at once.

10. How do you organize your books?

I love to pull all of my books into the middle of the room and then resort them. Sometimes by genres, sometimes by color. Sometimes by favorites, sometimes by the year I received them or read them. Right now my TBR shelves are color coded rainbow. My favorite stand alones are color coded on another shelf and my series books are collected together on a separate set of shelves. I’ve got other shelves sorted by language, French, Japanese, Latin. And then I’ve one full case of just random books that have no other home.

I’ve also got one stack a friend lent me, and another of loaned library books atm.

11. Who is your favorite book character and why?

Luna Lovegood because I’m always the odd one out with friends, or coworkers, and she reminds me that my happiness shouldn’t be based around others opinions. She reminds me to be kind and brave and to follow my own heart rather than what others think I should follow. I realize it’s not quite the same, but I feel that Evanna Lynch brought so much more to Luna in films than in the books. At Leakycon in 2012, she held a panel called Living the Luna way and she said this wonderful thing to everyone which I scrawled into a notebook. “Visualize a mountain. A huge, amazing mountain. Now put your hand in front of your eyes. You’re tiny little hand just covered a mountain.”

 

Now on to questions from Flora at Book, Line and Thinker

1 What is your favourite book/book series and why?

Harry Potter. Hands down. Up until I was 10, I was a horrible student who hated reading and school work and generally went around climbing things while pretending to scale castles or forts, and fight bad guys made of wind and shadow. I had plenty of imagination, and no one to share it with. Once I read HP, I realized that it wasn’t just kids who had imagination, but adults didn’t have to lose that part of themselves. And some of them, like JKR, were a hell of a lot better at it than I was and am. Harry Potter was my gateway drug into learning ( I went from a D student to A), reading (I regularly brought stacks home from the library searching for something as meaningful as HP, writing (like many writers I know, my love of writing started with fanfiction HG/SS anyone?), and the internet(mugglenet, leakycauldron, nerdfighters, potterpuppetpals, wrock, Pottermore). Ever facet of my life would be different without HP. But it’s not just what HP did for my physical life that makes it so important to me, but what it did for me mentally. It formed so much of my ideas and ideals of humanity, how I came to understand myself and others. Friendships, betrayals, rivals, education, ethics, family, love, magic. Harry Potter may not be my favorite book character, but he’s the most influential person of my life.

2 If you could talk to anyone in the history of humanity, currently living or not, who would it be?

JKR. Obviously I’d want to pick her brain about organizational methods of plotlines/subplots/ghostplots, but I’d also like to discuss her experiences with creativity while suffering from depression. It’s something I struggle with since I’m bipolar, and I know she based the Dementors off of depression, but there aren’t a lot of writers who are candid about mental illness and I’d like to hear more on her thoughts of the subject.

3 What are your pet peeves?

People who : think creativity is a waste of time or impractical/ would rather watch reality tv than pick up a book/ believe it’s impossible for them to achieve their impractical goal of (writing a books, traveling, learning a language or generally being happy) and therefore don’t try AND resent you for believing it to be a viable option.

4 If you were to write the story of your life, what genre would you want it to be?

Ugh woah. Uh… Coming of age? I don’t know that’s really hard. I already have the romance thing down, so I don’t know that I’d say that. My husband and I met at 11, started dating at 15, he proposed at 16 and we got married at 24 so we’ve got that all settled and he’s pretty much amazing so hmm. I’d say fantasy, urban or otherwise. I would be totally okay with like a portal or a doorway, or a whatever popping of and wisking me away on adventures, provided I could carry a waterproof notebook and drag my unadventurous husband along for the ride. Which now that I think about it, would probably be comedic gold, because I’d be like “Yeah let’s check out the mysterious cave, let’s jump in the pirate ship, let’s climb the fairy mountain.” And my husband would be trying to get phone service. 😀

5 If you’re familiar with Pokémon, what Pokémon would you want by your side as a companion? If you’re not, what normal animal would you want to be your companion?

I would like a Lapras to explore the ocean with.

6 What advice would you give to someone who wanted to start blogging?

Do it. Just start writing things. If you’re honest and express yourself, you’ll find like minded people. But don’t feel obligated to bend your will to what other people are doing. It’s okay to deviate from the path every once in a while.

7 What is your favourite genre of music?
– Subquestion: Do you prefer to listen to music while reading or silence?

I read in silence if I’m at home. I’m out in public I usually put on movie soundtracks to drown out others. I’m a big fan of Gladiator and the Pirates of the Caribbean soundtracks. In general though my favorite genre falls between punk rock/indie (weird/nerd/wrock/internet) music. I listen to a lot of wizard rock, and My Little Pony soundtracks, Dr who music, Sailor Moon music, youtube sensation people, and nerd parodies. Otherwise I like Ok Go, Pink, +44, Panic at the Disco and musicals. I’m kind of random.

8 What do you find most challenging about maintaining your blog?

Finding the right mood. If I’ve only got one or two comments then I don’t mind dealing with it when it comes up. But if I’ve got a lot of things to do, then I tend to push it back a couple of days. This for instance has sat on my to do list for almost a week.

9 What is most important to you in a book? Character development, plot progression, setting, language, description of detail…?

I would say character development is the thing I look for in books right off the bat. If I don’t like the character or their goals I’ll put the book down. But if the other things are off later on down the road then that can be a deal breaker too.

10 If you won the lottery, what would you do with the money?

Pay off my college degree, my husband’s, and my mother’s mortgage. Buy some land, build a small cabin/cottage and then put the rest of the money in the bank for books, travel and conventions.

11 Do you have a preference for where you get your books from and what condition they’re in? Second-hand bookstores, local libraries, opportunity shops, regular retail bookstores, hand-me-downs…?

I buy most of my books from Amazon, and a local chain, Bull Moose that specializes in second hand/new books, dvds, cds, vinyls and video games. All their new books are automatically 35% off the list price. I hate library books, they gross me out, but I usually buy second hand books.

 

Okay whew.

I am nominating :

Adriana of She’s got books on her mind

Tessa of Tessellated Tales

Lindsey of Linz the Bookworm

Jazmin of Writersmania

Nicole’s nine cents

Claire and Nicole of Bitches with Books

Krystal of Books and Bookmarks

Danielle of Love at First Page

Head in the Clouds, Heart in the books

Kay of Watch Kay Read

 

Alright. Last but not least, my questions for the nominees. (I’m going to recycle a couple of my favorites from above as well.)

1. What is your favorite book/series cover and why?

2. If you could make every single person on the planet read one book/series, what would it be and why?

3. What tropes/character types/plot devices tick you off in books and become deal breakers or make you think less of a story?

4. If you could have any super power what would it be and how would you use it to your in public/private?

5. If you were to write the story of your life what genre would it be?

6.  Favorite quote from a book you’ve read recently?

7.  If you attended Hogwarts what would you’re animagus be (or if your not an HP fan, what animal would you turn into if you could choose one)?

8. What about books makes you the happiest, places, people, dialogue, quotes, ideas, or something else and why?

9. If you could live anywhere in the world (real or imagined) where would you choose and why?

10. If you could buy all the books on your tbr, how much money do you estimate you’d have to spend?

11. If you were to write a novel, what would you’re ideal story include?

Okay well that’s it for now. Thank you again Flora and Kate for the nominations. Hope everyone has fun and I can’t wait to look at all your answers. 🙂

