So I’m doing this thing where I’m trying to follow my dreams. Let’s just stop right there. Following your dreams, or likewise following your heart are not exactly sound advice. They imply that a dream can be followed like a road on a map. That it’s predestined and fully formed and just awaiting your decision to embark. It’s bullshit. Also, in fair warning if your offended by the occasional naughty word, or just easily offended in general I may not be the writer for you.

But getting back to dreams… I do believe that the universe will conspire to help you achieve your goals. However you have to pave the way. That’s where people get confused, or at least the people I know. An agent isn’t going to fall from the sky and declare you a writer, an artist, or actress. But they might see your work and things could snowball from there. The hard part comes in two parts. Finishing what you start and then doing it again. It’s not enough to finish one book, or painting, or song. You have to create dozens.  Or at least that’s what I believe. It’s my sincerest hope that this path I’m crafting will lead me to success as a young adult writer of urban fantasy and dystopian sci-fi.

I guess if you follow me long enough we’ll see if I’m right.

